Diabetes COBRE

HOME | Principal Investigator | Associate Director | PJIs | CORES | MENTORS | IAC | EAC | PROJECTS | CALENDAR
Internal Advisory Committee (IAC)

The IAC includes 14 well-established scientists and clinical researchers at OUHSC and OMRF. The Core Directors (Drs. Ying Chen, James Tomasek and Christopher Aston) and all senior mentors for PJIs will serve on the IAC. The IAC also includes PIs of the two other COBREs at OUHSC and the PI of the Oklahoma INBRE program. This will enhance communication and collaboration with other COBREs and the INBRE. Since PJI training in translational research is the major goal of our COBRE, two Associate Directors of the Clinical Program of HHDC will also serve on the IAC. The IAC also includes the Associate Dean for Research and Vice President for Research to facilitate the collaboration of the COBRE with other shared core facilities at OUHSC to promote communications with the Institution.

The responsibilities of the IAC include:

  1. Facilitate the collaborations between the COBRE and the other COBRE and institutions.
  2. Meet with the PJIs and ECI twice a year, evaluating the progress of their projects and following the milestones of each project.
  3. Write comments and suggestions regarding the COBRE's operation and PJIs' projects.
  4. Meet with each PJI individually to provide guidance and recommendations regarding the projects and career of the PJIs and ECI.
  5. Monitor and critique the COBRE policy and operation, including milestones of progress.
  6. Evaluate the service of the Cores. 

    The IAC includes the following members:

    John Iandolo, Ph.D., Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and Vice President of University of Oklahoma for Research, is the PI of another COBRE at OUHSC and has served as Chairman of its Department of Microbiology and Immunology for many years. He has extensive research experience and has successfully mentored multiple graduate students, postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty members. He has been serving as the PI of a COBRE for the past 10 years and is experienced with COBRE operation. As Vice President, he is in charge of Core facilities supported by the University. His participation on the COBRE IAC will facilitate the collaboration of COBRE Core facilities with the University-supported Core facilities and will transition the COBRE Core facilities to the University-supported ones after the completion of the COBRE funding.

    Darrin Akins, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, is Associate Dean of the College of Medicine, OUHSC. He is also the PI of the Oklahoma INBRE program and has mentored many of its junior investigators. His participation on the IAC will facilitate the collaboration of the COBRE with the INBRE.

    Kenneth Copeland, M.D., Professor of Pediatrics, is Associate Director of HHDC and Chief of the Section of Pediatric Endocrinology. He has served on our COBRE IAC for the past four years. He has extensive experience in diabetes treatment and prevention as well as clinical research. He has experience in recruiting and mentoring junior faculty members.

    Robert E. Anderson, M.D., Ph.D., Dean McGee Professor, is the Research Director of Dean McGee Eye Institute. He served as Chairman of the Department of Cell Biology for 10 years. He has also served for the past nine years as PI of another COBRE (Vision Research) at OUHSC. He has extensive experience in mentoring junior faculty members and in COBRE operation. His participation in the IAC will promote the collaboration of this COBRE with his COBRE program.

    Luke Szweda, PhD is a Member and the Hille Family Foundation Chair of the Free Radical Biology and Aging Research Program at OMRF. His expertise is in mitochondrial bioenergetics, metabolism, and free radical biology in the heart. In addition, Dr. Szweda has extensive experience mentoring young scientists and is a former COBRE PJI mentor. His scientific and mentoring experience will be an asset to the future success of Dr. Humphries.

    Dr. Scott Plafker - Dr. Plafker is an Associate Member in the Free Radical Biology and Aging Research Program at OMRF. He is a former COBRE PJI who successfully obtained R01 funding. Dr. Plafker is extremely familiar with the fields of diabetes and free radicals and with many of the techniques Dr. Humphries will employ. At the same time, Dr. Plafker’s distinct expertise in cell biology will offer to Dr. Humphries a unique perspective on experimental design and interpretation.

    Paul Weigel, Ph.D., Professor and Chairman, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, OUHSC, has expertise in structural biology and has an excellent and long track record of funding and publications.  He has mentored many junior investigators in his department. He recruited Franklin A. Hays into his department in 2009.

    Leonidas Tsiokas, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology, has an excellent track record of funded research and outstanding publications in kidney research. He has successfully mentored a PJI who received an R01 grant in another COBRE (Vision Research) at OUHSC.

    James Lane, M.D., Professor and Harold Hamm Endowed Chair in Clinical Diabetes Research, was recently recruited from the University of Nebraska. He directs the clinical and education components of the Adult Program of HHDC. He has extensive experience in the diagnosis and treatment of diabetes and clinical research and has trained many residents and clinical fellows. His clinical expertise and clinical research projects will allow the PJIs to receive training in clinical aspects of diabetes and to access well-characterized human samples for their research.

    Ann Louise Olson, Ph.D. - Dr. Olson is the Edith Kinney Gaylor Foundation Presidential Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at OUHSC.  Dr. Olson's laboratory has had a long-standing interest in the molecular processes that regulate insulin-mediated exocytosis of GLUT4 vesicles as well as the transcriptional regulation of the GLUT4 gene. Using transgenic mouse models, the Olson lab has sought to understand the transcriptional regulation of the GLUT4 gene in complex with physiologic states.  Understanding these areas of GLUT4 cellular and molecular biology are crucial to understanding the development of diabetes.  Dr. Olson is well versed in all aspects of diabetes research and will be an integral part of Dr. Hays's mentoring team within this COBRE initiative.

    Ming-Hui Zou, M.D., Ph.D. Travis Professor, Department of Medicine, is Vice Chair for Research in the Department.  He has an outstanding track record of publication and of NIH funding (presently seven concurrent R01s as PI). He has trained many students and postdoctoral fellows and junior faculty members. He has served on the IAC in the first term of the COBRE. His success in grant applications will assist the PJIs and ECI in their grant applications

    Former IAC members:
    Dr. Joseph Ferretti, Provost of OUHSC,
    Dr. Joseph Waner, Vice President for Research at OUHSC
    Dr. Morris Foster
    Dr. John Mulvihill,
    Dr. Andrew Gardner

    IAC Meetings
    March 21, 2008
    May 21, 2009
    November 06, 2009
    May 20, 2010
    November 08, 2010
    May 17, 2011
    January 12, 2012
    February 7, 2013
    November 19, 2013

« back | home