Research and Evaluation Projects

Legacy for Children™

Legacy for Children™ is an evidence-based parenting program focused on strengthening the parent-child relationship and social support as well as promoting children’s health and socio-emotional development.  OUHSC is collaborating with Oklahoma State University (OSU), Educare, Catholic Charities, AUCD and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) to examine (a) the social validity, acceptability, and cultural congruency for providers and parent consumers of the Spanish translated Legacy for Children™ curriculum, (b) process of implementation including fidelity, and (c) maternal and child progress.


Collaborating Partners:

Lara Robinson: lpr0@cdc.gov
Amanda Morris: Amanda.morris@okstate.edu
Adriane Griffen: agriffen@aucd.org

Primary OUHSC Investigators:

Principal Investigator: Jane Silovsky, PhD, OUHSC
Jane-Silovsky@ouhsc.edu

Co-Principal Investigator: Lana Beasley, PhD, OUHSC/OSU
Lana-Beasley@ouhsc.edu

Co-Principal Investigator: Angela Harnden, PhD, OUHSC, UCEDD-CLL
Angela-Harnden@ouhsc.edu

Click the link for more information about Legacy for Children™: link

Nutrition Interventions

Nutrition is for Everyone(NIFE) is a project to provide nutrition education for and with people with developmental disabilities, their friends, families, and caregivers. Nutrition is for Everyone also advocates for inclusive nutritional education. 

This project is led by Oklahoma Nutrition Ambassador, Ashley Brice, a registered dietitian and OKLEND graduat along with Deputy Ambassadors who are self-advocate and family leaders in the disability community. These leaders work with people with disabilities, their families, and friends to increase the knowledge and skills necessary to make healthy choices. Nutrition education will be provided for people in the disability community across the five  states of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Tennessee, and Mississippi. Nutrition is for Everyone is part of a five-state grant through the  Association of University Centers on Disabilities (AUCD) and is funded by the Walmart Foundation.

Goals for this project:

  • Eat more fruits and vegetables.
  • Cook more meals at home.
  • Lose weight and be healtheir.
  • Create a network of advocates for healthy eating in Oklahoma. 

For more information contact Ashley Brice.

Email: ashley-brice@ouhsc.edu