#### APPROVED

Volume 47 Number 8 April 16, 2020 Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

# SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O) PRESENT ABSENT

Zoom participants TBD

#### **EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT –** (meeting was conducted via Zoom)

- I. Call to Order Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:01 pm via Zoom. A quorum was present.
  - Guest Speaker: Dr. Dale Bratzler Enterprise Chief Quality Officer and Professor

College of Medicine and Public Health: Chair of the Health Administration and Policy Department, Hudson College of Public Health

- Dr. Bratzler presented a presentation on COVID-19
- Presentation is on Faculty Senate homepage w/access to download the slides
- II. Approval of March 2020 Minutes Approved
  - Motioned: Fernando Esteban-Florez Second: Carol Rodgers Approved
- III. Report of the Chair-Elect –Dr. Katherine O'Neal (meeting w/Provost)
  - Discussions about Online Learning
    - OK State Regents are currently researching tech grants available

#### V. Committee and Department Reports:

- Employee Benefits Council Dr. Kevin Farmer
  - RFP was done for dental and vision plans
  - Virus updates related to medical plans; PPO and high deductible plans covering many test w/no cost
  - HSC and Flexible Spending Accounts have access to over the counter items w/no prescription. Visit website for details
  - Contact HR (Shane Daniels) for details on helpful leave provisions (Families First Coronavirus Response Act); Options are available to assist you w/o penalty during this pandemic
- Graduate Council Eric Howard
  - Encourage your students to participate in the virtual commencement Norman is coordinating with OUHSC/Tulsa

#### **VI. Committee and Council Reports**

Regents Meeting: No report

Bylaws Committee: Dr. Lynn Jeffries

**Committee on Committees:** Dr. Lynn Jeffries – Chair – No report

Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - No report

IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan/Renee Leasure- No report

Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson – Interim Chair – No report

Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier – Chair – No report

**Discrimination and Harassment Committee:** Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball – No report

Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard – Report provided

Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - No report

**Research Council:** Dr. Larry Regens – Chair – No report

Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne – Report provided

#### APPROVED

Commencement Committee: Dr. Denise Bender – No report Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson – No report Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. George Richter-Addo – No report Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee/Kevin Farmer – Report provided Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith – No report Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw – No report Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford – No report

## **VII. Unfinished Business**

## VIII. New Business

#### IX. Old Business:

#### New Business:

 Faculty Senate Nominations and elections ongoing for the 2020-2021 academic year; executive committee elections will take place in May

## X. Announcements/Other Discussion Items

- COVID-19 updates; share questions and concerns anytime
- Although Spring Awards are cancelled, Winners will be announced soon. Continue to follow details on the website.
- COVID-19 resource page <u>https://www.oumedicine.com/coronavirus</u> https://spark.adobe.com/page/W7RQoVoDsz0Sm/

#### \*\*Highlights\*\*

- Dr. William Hildebrand is working with Pure MHC to develop a vaccine for COVID-19
- Children's Hospital became the first hospital in Oklahoma to earn the Cribs for Kids National Safe Sleep Hospital Certification at the gold level

Adjourned: 6:00 pm Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for: Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

<u>Handouts:</u> April 2020 Agenda March 2020 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes