Volume 47 Number 1 August 15, 2019 Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O)

PRESENT

Katherine O'Neal (O) Lynn Jeffries (O) Eric Howard (O) Ashley Fox (O) Marie Hanigan (O) Jeff Berry (S) Fernando Esteban-Florez (S) Susan Settle (S) Rene McNall (S) Marvin Williams (S) Mark Harman (S) T Pam Roberts (S) Amanda Celii (S) Annie Moreau (S) Kathy Reilly (S) Paul Mullasseril (S) Susan Settle (S) Kar-Ming Fung (A) Rene Leasure (S) Mark Fisher (S) Carol Rogers (A) Ashley Fox (S) **Teresa Lewis**

ABSENT Denise Bender (S) Marissa Mangrum (A) Frank Boutsen (A) Zachary Dacus (S) Donna Wood (A) Kay Suzie Beavers (A) Mike Ihnat (A) Heather Burks (A) Monica Henning (A) David Kelley (A) Mary Hudson (S) Kari Boyce (A) Denise Finneran (A) Jun Wang (S) Beth Hall (S) Judy Ogans (A) Shellie Keast (S) Blas Espinoza-Varas (A) Sara Veselv (S) Tabitha Garwe (A) Alicia Salvatore (A)

EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT – Patsy Smith, Nursing; Gillian Air, Graduate College; Ferenc Deak, Neuroscience
Call to Order - Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair-Elect, called the meeting to order at 5:10 p.m. in the Provost's Conference Room, Bird Library. A quorum was present.

II. Approval of April 2019 Minutes - Approved

Motioned: Eric Howard Seconded: Marie Hanigan

III. Report of the Chair – Dr. Katherine O'Neal (Meeting with Provost held on Aug 15th)

- Regents meeting was in June
- o Biomedical Sciences Building renovations ongoing
- Executive Committee met w/Provost on August 15th and the faculty survey discussion ongoing
- o Deans will be meeting next week regarding the strategic plan
- Approach to compensation toward OUHSC employees

IV. Committee and Department Reports:

•

- Committee on Committee Dr. Lynn Jeffries
 - Voted on slate
 - Motioned: Lynn Jeffries Seconded: Rene McNall
 - Faculty Compensation Committee Dr. Marie Hanigan
 - Meeting took place last week with Marcia Bennett
 - New money was discussed from the legislature and OUHSC for faculty raises; will be looking into how to distribute to Colleges
 - Deans were given figures from each College; Dept. Chairs will make recommendations on who gets the funds and how much
 - o EBC minutes were distributed as a handout

V. Committee and Council Reports

Regents Meeting: no report Bylaws Committee: Dr. Denise Bender - Chair - no report Committee on Committees: Dr. Katherine O'Neal - Chair - no report Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - no report IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan- Report given Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson - Interim Chair - no report Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier - Chair - no report Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball - no report Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard - no report Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - no report Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens - Chair - no report Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne - no report Commencement Committee: Professor Bradford Gildon - Chair - no report Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson - no report Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. Kevin Haney - no report Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee – Report given Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith (O) - no report Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw - no report Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford - no report

VI. Unfinished Business

VII. New Business

- Executive Committee will be looking at updating the Operating Procedures and Charter and discuss with the Provost
- Updates will be made to the website; working on placing photos of the senators on the website
- Suggestions discussed on doing lunches; off site and possibly quarterly
- Fall Faculty Retreat in discussion with the Provost
- Regents meeting will be held on September 10th; need volunteer rep from Faculty Senate
- Fall Faculty meeting will be the same format as last year; request was sent to have the new President present to speak
- o Hosting campus speaker; Options on Inter-professional Education/Medicine

VIII. Old Business

IX. Announcements

X. Adjournment – Adjourned: 6:00 pm Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for: Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

Handouts: August 2019 Agenda June 2019 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes EBC July Minutes ITAC Minutes HSC Faculty Senate Charter Faculty Senate Rules and Operation Procedures