### Volume 47 Number 6 February 20, 2020 Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

# SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O)

PRESENT
---------

Katherine O'Neal (O) Eric Howard (O) Ashley Fox (O) Lynn Jeffries (O) Marie Hanigan (O) Marissa Mangrum (S) Fernando Esteban-Florez (S) Zachary Dacus (S) Susan Settle (S) Marvin Williams (S) Mark Harman (S) T Kathy Reilly (S) Mark Fisher (S) Valerie Eschiti (A) Janis Campbell (S) ABSENT Denise Bender (S) Frank Boutsen (A) Donna Wood (A) Kay Suzie Beavers (A) Mike Ihnat (A) Rene McNall (S) Pam Roberts (S) Annie Moreau (S) Amanda Celii (S) Heather Burks (A) Monica Henning (A) David Kelley (A) Carol Rogers (S) Rene Leasure (S) Jenn Milroy (A) Kiya Harrison (S) Amanda Sharp (A) Evan Floyd (S) Sara Vesely (S) Jun Wang (S)

\*Need 12 for a quorum

#### EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT - Kari Boyce

- I. Call to Order Dr. Lynn Jeffries, Chair-Elect, called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m. in the Provost's Conference Room, Bird Library. A quorum was not present.
- II. Guest Speaker Eric Conrad-VP of Operations and Paul Manzelli, Associate VP for Admin & Finance
  - Eric Conrad introduced himself to the faculty and shared his background experience
    - He outlined the current structure for Purchasing at OUHSC and the future plans that was approved in December 2019

Laura Beebe (A)

- $\succ$  Phase 1 will consist of getting the organization in place
- Phase 2 will consist of upgrading policies and procedures
  - Creating a new market site for purchases that consist of the top 10+ vendors we use
- > Creating a queuing system for purchasing request
- A search for a new Director of Purchasing is in the works; hope to be filled by Summer 2020

#### III. Approval of October 2019 Minutes - Pending

- o Quorum not present
- IV. Report of the Chair-Elect -Dr. Lynn Jeffries (meeting w/Provost held)
  - Key Priorities the President has in the plans
    - HSC strategic plan in the works
    - Diversity/Equality and Inclusion
    - Getting OUHSC in alignment with OU Medical Center
  - $\circ$   $\,$  Discussed state funding will be 1% less than last year  $\,$
  - o OU Health branding
  - Spring Faculty Appreciation (TBD)
  - $\circ \quad \ \ \text{Discussion on indirect cost rate}$

# Regent's Faculty Advisory Council – Dr. Lynn Jeffries

- Weapons Resolution; edits made and vote in process
- Travel is restricted to California
- Software Upgrades

### V. Committee and Department Reports:

• Committee on Committee – Dr. Lynn Jeffries

- ITAC-Report provided by Renee Leasure
  - Nicholas Keys is a new representative for ITAC
  - > Nicholas Keys will be open to speaking with the Faculty Senate in the near future
  - Epic Software rollout is tentative for 2020

### **VI. Committee and Council Reports**

Regents Meeting: no report

Bylaws Committee: Dr. Lynn Jeffries

**Committee on Committees:** Dr. Lynn Jeffries – Chair – no report

Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - no report

IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan- no report

Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson – Interim Chair – no report

Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier - Chair - no report

Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball - no report

Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard – no report

Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair – no report

Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens - Chair - no report

Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne - Report provided

Commencement Committee: Dr. Denise Bender – No report

Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson - no report

**Council on Faculty Awards and Honors:** Dr. George Richter-Addo – no report

Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee – no report

Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith – no report

Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw - no report

Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford - no report

### **VII. Unfinished Business**

## **VIII. New Business**

## IX. Old Business

## • Discussed Gun Law Draft Resolution

- X. Highlights
  - The Children's Hospital Pediatric Urologist Dr. Dominic Frimberger was elected to serve as president of the American Association of Pediatric Urologists
  - o Dr. Steven Crawford named Senior Association Dean and Director of the Office of Healthcare Innovation and Policy

## XI. Announcements/Other Discussion Items

- Kari Boyce announced "Super Computing Tuesday" on March 3<sup>rd</sup> to discuss IT resources in Allied Health
  Plan is to follow along with clinical research, then education resources
- Ideas on Faculty Senate communication on campus is in the works and will be sent out to faculty on campus that consist of a summary of events on campus; will send out via email
- Faculty discuss idea of sending out a blurb about upcoming elections and who is eligible to serve.
- OUHSC Big Event, April 18, 2020

## X. Adjournment – Adjourned: 6:15 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for: Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

<u>Handouts:</u> February 2020 Agenda January 2020 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes