Volume 47 Number 5 January 16, 2020 Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O)

PRESENT	ABSENT
Katherine O'Neal (O)	Mark Harman (S) T
Eric Howard (O)	Denise Bender (S)
Ashley Fox (O)	Frank Boutsen (A)
Lynn Jeffries (O)	Donna Wood (A)
Marie Hanigan (O)	Kay Suzie Beavers (A)
Marissa Mangrum (S)	Mike Ihnat (A)
Fernando Esteban-Florez (S)	Amanda Celii (S)
Zachary Dacus (S)	Kathy Reilly (S)
Susan Settle (S)	Heather Burks (A)
Rene McNall (S)	Monica Henning (A)
Marvin Williams (S)	David Kelley (A)
Pam Roberts (S)	Jenn Milroy (A)
Annie Moreau (S)	Kiya Harrison (S)
Carol Rogers (S)	Amanda Sharp (A)
Rene Leasure (S)	Evan Floyd (S)
Mark Fisher (S)	Sara Vesely (S)
Valerie Eschiti (A)	Jun Wang (S)
Janis Campbell (S)	Laura Beebe (A)

*Need 12 for a quorum

EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT - Rachel Funk-Lawler and Doug Meyers, Parking

- **Call to Order -** Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the Provost's Conference Room, Bird Library. A quorum was present.
- **II.** Guest Speaker Doug Meyers-Director of Parking
 - Parking Study was done in 2019 to review parking needs on campus
 - New tech ideas in the works within the upcoming year; once new plans are set in place, OUMI will have the same system
 - Parking rates have been increased; please see parking website for details
 - Plans for an additional parking garage are in the works
- III. Approval of October 2019 Minutes Approved
 - o Motioned: Rene McNall Seconded: Eric Howard
- IV. Report of the Chair –Dr. Katherine O'Neal (meeting w/Provost held)
 - o HSC strategic plan in the works; will consist of OU Health Clinic and Tulsa
 - Discussed a faculty retreat; having more collaboration, focus on initiatives, and committees
 - Plans in the works over the next 12-18 mths for Intranet needs; housing the events on campus
 - o Promotion & Tenure was vetted at the last Deans Council; no further changes at this time
 - Faculty Senate recommends requesting that the Provost notify all faculty when changes have occurred to the faculty handbook
 - - *Also requesting which committees have a non-tenure representation
 - *Clarify the policy and what is the impact not having tenure on campus

V. Committee and Department Reports:

- Committee on Committee Dr. Lynn Jeffries
 - Regents Report -
 - Executive Committee
 - Met with Eric Conrad, Purchasing Vice President of Operations
 - Purchasing is currently restructuring the Dept
 - Recognized the needs on all campuses and Eric will update regularly as changes occur

APPROVED

Regents Meeting: no report Bylaws Committee: Dr. Lynn Jeffries Committee on Committees: Dr. Lynn Jeffries - Chair - no report Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - no report IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan- no report Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson - Interim Chair - no report Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier - Chair - no report Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball - no report Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard - no report Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - no report Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens - Chair - no report Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne - Report provided Commencement Committee: Dr. Denise Bender – No report Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson - no report Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. George Richter-Addo - no report Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee – no report Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith - no report Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw - no report Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford - no report VII. Unfinished Business

VIII. New Business

IX. Old Business

• Discussed Gun Law Draft Resolution

- Faculty Senate will send out an email vote
- X. Highlights
 - o Trauma Center at the Children's Hospital Re-verified as a Pediatric Level 1 Trauma Center

XI. Announcements

Wednesday, Jan 29th, Dr. Bernice King will be speaking 12-1pm at the Nicholson Tower Conference Center (940 NE 13th Street) and broadcasted to LC 231 in Tulsa

X. Adjournment – Adjourned: 6:00 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for: Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

<u>Handouts:</u> January 2020 Agenda November 2019 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes