APPROVED

Volume 47 Number 9 May 21, 2020 Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O) PRESENT ABSENT

Zoom participants

EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT – (meeting was conducted via Zoom)

- **I.** Call to Order Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:00 pm via Zoom. A quorum was present.
 - Guest Speaker: Dr. Belinda Hyppolite Vice President of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion,
 - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Goals:
 - o Awareness: Critically examine campus climate
 - o Education: We strive together to mitigate inequities
 - Advocacy: Promote an equitable campus community
 - Discussed leadership roles and how they will lead the institutions mission and vision for DEI
 - Discussed strategies:
 - o Improve programs and services
 - Streamline resources and strengthen partners
 - o Enhance student, faculty, and staff diversity initiatives
 - Refocus policies and guidelines
 - Enhance the utilization of technology
 - o Utilize awards recognition research and incentives
 - "Remain Relevant and Current"
- II. Approval of April 2020 Minutes Approved
 - Motioned: Fernando Esteban-Florez Second: Mark Fisher Approved
- **III. Report of the Chair-Elect** –Dr. Katherine O'Neal (meeting w/Provost)
 - Executive Committee met with Provost Sanders on May 18th
 - All students expected to graduate in 2020 are on track
 - o Programs will continue thru the summer via online
 - Expect clinical rotations to resume within the next week
 - Programs focusing on COVID-19 pandemic and with that a lot of tele-health was able to take place
 - Financial update; we are -\$7million in net close for the fiscal year; goal is to restore clinical momentum in revenue
 - o Research update; continuing existing research projects as well as COVID related
 - Strategic plan draft is expected after July
 - Regents Faculty Advisory Council
 - Online consortium launching a website in July; will focus on online collaboration groups, membership, priorities and initiatives, etc.
 - Council of Online Learning Excellence Online Education Resources subcommittee is developing a grant proposal; more information will be distributed

APPROVED

V. Committee and Department Reports:

- o Employee Benefits Council Dr. Kevin Farmer
 - Testing or treatment cost will be covered at 100% and that will be extended until June 30th
 - Health Care cost; will maintain 3 tier across the board (OKC and Norman)
 - Will be staying with BlueCross BlueShield; Norman will adopt our structure
 - HR wellness visits will start back later this summer; should see those emails soon
 - Fidelity representative was available w/Daniel but he's moving so a replacement will be coming soon (retirement related)
 - RFP was done for dental and vision plans

VI. Committee and Council Reports

Regents Meeting: No report

Bylaws Committee: Dr. Lynn Jeffries

Committee on Committees: Dr. Lynn Jeffries – Chair – No report

Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - No report

IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan/Renee Leasure- No report

Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson – Interim Chair – Report provided

Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier - Chair - No report

Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball – No report

Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard - No report

Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - No report

Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens – Chair – No report Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne – Report provided Commencement Committee: Dr. Denise Bender – No report Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson – No report

Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. George Richter-Addo – No report

Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee/Kevin Farmer – Report provided

Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith – No report **Scholars Selection Committee:** Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw – No report

Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford – No report

VII. Unfinished Business

VIII. New Business

IX. Old Business:

New Business:

- Faculty Senate nominations and elections for the 2020-2021 academic year
 - *Current Secretary Elect, Ashley Fox will be leaving the University; Chair proposes Eric Howard to maintain the position for 2020-2021
 - Secretary Eric Howard
 - *Motioned: Lynn Jeffries Second: Renee Leasure Approved
- o Chair opened the floor for any other nominations or self nominations None received
 - Secretary Elect Renee Leasure
 - Moved to approve by acclamation (single nomination)
 - Motioned: Lynn Jeffries Second: Marvin Williams Approved
- Chair opened the floor for any other nominations or self nominations None received
 - Chair Elect Fernando Esteban-Florez
 Moved to approve by acclamation (single nomination)

APPROVED

Motioned: Carol Rogers Second: Renee Leasure - Approved

X. Announcements/Other Discussion Items

- COVID-19 updates; share questions and concerns anytime
- Although Spring Awards are cancelled, Winners will be announced soon. Continue to follow details on the website.
- COVID-19 resource page https://www.oumedicine.com/coronavirus
 https://spark.adobe.com/page/W7RQoVoDsz0Sm/

Highlights

- o OU Board of Regents names Joe Harroz as 15th President of the University
- o Dr. Annie Moreau was awarded the Stanton L. Young Master Teacher Award
- o Dr. Paul Mullasseril was inducted as the new President of the Oklahoma Dental Association
- Congratulations to all faculty that received awards and recognized for years of service and to our current senators that were recognized

(https://www.ouhsc.edu/facultysenate/Recognition):

- Dr. Marie Hanigan Superior Professional and University Service and Public Outreach
- o Dr. Denise Bender David Boss Boyd Professorship
- o Dr. Marvin Williams Presidential Professorship
- o Dr. Fernando Esteban Florez Jr Faculty Provost Research Award
- Dr. Eric Howard Faculty Governance Award

Adjourned: 5:50 pm Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for:

Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

Handouts:

May 2020 Agenda April 2020 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes