APPROVED

Volume 47 Number 4

November 21, 2019

Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O)

PRESENT Katherine O'Neal (O) Eric Howard (O) Ashley Fox (O) Lvnn Jeffries (O) Marissa Mangrum (S) Zachary Dacus (S) Susan Settle (S) Rene McNall (S)

Pam Roberts (S) Heather Burks (A)

Carol Rogers (S) Rene Leasure (S)

Mark Fisher (S)

Laura Beebe (A) Valerie Eschiti (A)

*Need 12 for a quorum

ABSENT

Marie Hanigan (O)

Fernando Esteban-Florez (S)

Marvin Williams (S) Mark Harman (S) T Annie Moreau (S) Kathy Reilly (S) Denise Bender (S) Marissa Mangrum (A) Frank Boutsen (A)

Donna Wood (A) Kay Suzie Beavers (A)

Mike Ihnat (A) Amanda Celii (S) Monica Henning (A)

David Kelley (A) Jenn Milroy (A) Kiya Harrison (S) Amanda Sharp (A)

Evan Floyd (S) Janis Campbell (S) Sara Vesely (S)

Jun Wang (S)

EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT - Kelli Dyer, Colin Fonda, and Dr. Patsy Smith (in addition one unknown name on sign in)

- Leads to Order Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. in the Provost's Conference Room, Bird Library. A quorum was present.
- II. Guest Speaker Shane Daniels-ADA/FMLA Administrator/Shared Leave Coordinator in Human Resources
 - Shared Leave Committee encourages faculty to donate to the general pool of funds
 - o Discussed the rules and qualifications in detail
- III. Approval of October 2019 Minutes Approved
 - Motioned: Eric Howard Seconded: Lynn Jeffries
- IV. Report of the Chair Dr. Katherine O'Neal (Meeting with Provost held on Sep 19th)
 - No meeting held with the Provost and President; working on scheduling
 - Regent's Faculty Advisory Council
 - Fall Faculty General Assembly Meeting held last month
 - Discussed state of the state in higher education
 - 87% of people educated in OK stay in OK
 - Earnings increase for those with college degrees
 - OK Promise Program continues to have great outcomes
 - OK state appropriations have increased
 - OK is 12th lowest in fees and 13th lowest for student debt
- **Committee and Department Reports:**
 - Committee on Committee Dr. Lynn Jeffries
 - ITAC Committee will provide a link to the faculty for feedback
 - **Advisory Council**
 - Major Schofield spoke on gun laws on campus
 - President is authorized to give special permission to carry but no one has been given this permission at this time
 - Faculty Survey has been compiled and will disseminate soon
 - Kent Teague nominated for Campus Tenure Committee Committee Approved Motioned: Lynn Jeffries; Seconded: Eric Howard
 - Celeste Wirsig nominated for Employee Benefits Committee Committee Approved Motioned: Lynn Jeffries; Seconded: Eric Howard

APPROVED

VI. Committee and Council Reports

Regents Meeting: no report

Bylaws Committee: Dr. Lynn Jeffries

Committee on Committees: Dr. Lynn Jeffries – Chair – no report

Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - no report

IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan- no report

Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson - Interim Chair - no report

Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier – Chair – no report

Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball - no report

Graduate Council: Dr. Eric Howard - no report

Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - no report

Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens – Chair – no report Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne – Report provided Commencement Committee: Dr. Denise Bender – No report Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson – no report

Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. George Richter-Addo - no report

Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee – no report Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith – no report Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw – no report

Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford - no report

VII. Unfinished Business

VIII. New Business

Discussed ideas for a Faculty Senate "Tip Sheet"

IX. Old Business

- Fall Senate Retreat November 12th @ 5:30-7:30pm at Research Park
 - o Turnout was great; Next event coming soon

X. Highlights

- o SCC received a \$20 million gift from Stephenson Family Foundation and Peggy and Charles Stephenson
- Drs. Paul Tiwana and Phoebe Vaughn with the College of Dentistry inducted into American College of Dentists

XI. Announcements

Meet and Greet December 5, 2019

X. Adjournment - Adjourned: 6:00 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for:

Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

Handouts:

November 2019 Agenda

October 2019 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes