### **APPROVED**

Volume 47 Number 2

**PRESENT** 

**September 19, 2019** 

Minutes of the OUHSC Faculty Senate

# SENATORS (S), ALTERNATES (A), AND OFFICERS (O)

Katherine O'Neal (O) Lynn Jeffries (O) Eric Howard (O) Ashley Fox (O) Marie Hanigan (O)

Jeff Berry (S)

Fernando Esteban-Florez (S)

Zachary Dacus (S) Susan Settle (S) Rene McNall (S) Mark Harman (S) T Pam Roberts (S) Annie Moreau (S) Heather Burks (A) Rene Leasure (S) Carol Rogers (A) Mark Fisher (S) Sara Vesely (S)

Jun Wang (S) Laura Beebe (A) Valerie Eschiti (A)

**ABSENT** 

Denise Bender (S) Marissa Mangrum (A) Frank Boutsen (A) Donna Wood (A) Kay Suzie Beavers (A)

Mike Ihnat (A) Marvin Williams (S) Amanda Celii (S) Kathy Reilly (S) Monica Henning (A) David Kelley (A) Jenn Milroy (A) Kiya Harrison (S) Amanda Sharp (A)

Evan Floyd (S) Janis Campbell (S)

# **EX-OFFICERS AND GUESTS PRESENT -**

- Call to Order Dr. Katherine O'Neal, Chair-Elect, called the meeting to order at 5:10 p.m. in the Provost's Conference Room, Bird Library. A quorum was present.
- II. Approval of August 2019 Minutes Approved

Motioned: Rene McNall Seconded: Annie Moreau

- III. Report of the Chair Dr. Katherine O'Neal (Meeting with Provost held on Sep 19th)
  - o Faculty Survey still under review
  - Online Education Program Provost is looking at ideas for OUHSC campus
  - OUHSC had \$5 million savings last year; savings were put back into the Colleges
  - Personnel changes made in Purchasing
  - There was an inquiry from a faculty member regarding the definition of "arms length" for external recommendations for the purpose of promotion and tenure
    - Executive committee will discuss with the Provost
  - Regent's Faculty Advisory Council
    - Last meeting, for the year, held in May

#### IV. **Committee and Department Reports:**

- Committee on Committee Dr. Lynn Jeffries
  - Senate voted and approved Ann Johnson, College of Dentistry, to the ITAC Committee
    - Motioned: Lynn Jeffries Seconded: Rene McNall
  - Other Committee Reports
    - Eric Howard reported that Chief Nathaniel Tarver spoke to the Graduate Council on 9/19/19 regarding safety on campus; Chief Tarver informs that lighting improvements and emergency campus phone repairs were in the plans for near future
    - Will receive updates on improvements soon

# V. Committee and Council Reports

Regents Meeting: no report

Bylaws Committee: Dr. Denise Bender - Chair - no report

#### **APPROVED**

Committee on Committees: Dr. Katherine O'Neal - Chair - no report

Faculty Compensation Committee: Dr. Aaron Wendelboe - Chair - no report

IT Advisory Committee: Dr. Mike McShan- no report

Academic Programs Council: Professor Stacy Anderson – Interim Chair – no report

Campus Tenure Committee: Dr. Frans Currier - Chair - no report

Discrimination and Harassment Committee: Dr. Wendy Galbraith & Dr. Suzanne Kimball – no report

**Graduate Council:** Dr. Eric Howard – no report

Library Advisory Committee: Dr. Shari Kinney- Chair - no report

Research Council: Dr. Larry Regens - Chair - no report

Athletics Council: Dr. Carol Dionne - no report

Commencement Committee: Professor Bradford Gildon - Chair - no report

Continuing Education Council: Dr. Stacy Anderson – no report

Council on Faculty Awards and Honors: Dr. Kevin Haney – no report Employment Benefits Committee: University Committee – no report Honorary Degrees Screening Committee: Dr. Patsy Smith (O) – no report

Scholars Selection Committee: Dr. Barbara Holtzclaw - no report

Retirement Plans Management Committee: Dr. Pam Crawford - no report

#### VI. Unfinished Business

#### VII. New Business

Fall Senate Retreat:

Suggestions on an evening event but held before the Fall Meeting

- Meet and Greet/Faculty Senate
  - Simmons Bank has agreed to host; Faculty will be invited; Time and Date TBD
  - Joint (HSC & OMEI) United Way Campaign link provided if anyone is interested

### VII. Old Business

- Contract for 2020 OUHSC health insurance (Lynn Jeffries):
  - OU Norman and OUHSC both selected BlueCross BlueShield and their health provider but each campus will be managed separately. OU Norman will have a 6 tier system and OUHSC will have 3 tier
  - o Norman health plans have a more restrictive plan vs. OUHSC
  - Risk & projected cost is taken into consideration why 4.9% rate increase for OUHSC

# VIII. Highlights

- Dr. Javier Jo, Professor with School of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Member of Stephenson Cancer Center received a \$2.5 million grant from NIH to develop computer technology and a new medical device to help detect oral cancer
- 36 registered nurses with OU Medicine featured on the "Great 100 Nurses Foundation List" for 2019

## IX. Announcements

X. Adjournment – Adjourned: 5:50 pm

Respectfully submitted,

Catina Jordan for:

Eric Howard, Secretary 2019-2020 Ashley Fox, Secretary-Elect 2019-2020

# Handouts:

September 2019 Agenda

August 2019 Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes

"Make Time Now" - Flu Vaccine Flyer

"We Want to Hear from You" - Food Insecurity Flyer