

OUHSC FACULTY SENATE MEETING

Thursday, April 21, 2022 – 5:00 p.m. In-person: Bird Library Auditorium, Room 299 Virtual: Zoom or Phone

AGENDA*

- I. Call to Order: Dr. Fernando Esteban Florez, Chair
- **II. Guest Speaker:** Interim Senior Vice President and Provost Gary E. Raskob, Ph.D. *Topic*: OUHSC Strategic Plan

III. Approval

- Minutes: February 17, 2022 Faculty Senate Meeting
 Minutes: March 23, 2022 Faculty Senate Meeting
- IV. Report of the Chair, Dr. Fernando Esteban Florez
- V. Committee and Department Reports
 - Committee Reports

VI. New Business

- Call for New Officers (voting to take place at the May meeting)
 - Secretary Elect
 - Chair Elect

VII. Old Business

- College Elections see attached results
- University-Wide IT Support Link: https://itsupport.ou.edu/

VIII. Other Items

Is this a Great University or What?

- Recent R35 Award received by OUHSC Faculty: The R35 MIRA provides support for the research in an investigator's laboratory that falls within the mission of NIGMS. The goal of MIRA is to increase the efficiency of NIGMS funding by providing investigators with greater stability and flexibility, thereby enhancing scientific productivity and the chances for important breakthroughs. The program will also help distribute funding more widely among the nation's highly talented and promising investigators. MIRA grants will generally be for 5 years, for both established investigators and early stage investigators.

William Berry, Assistant Professor of Surgery

Title: Mechanisms Driving the Formation of Post-operative Peritoneal Adhesions

Brief Summary: Intra-abdominal surgeries are performed daily in the U.S. and over 90% of these surgeries lead to the formation of peritoneal adhesions which increases the risk of mortality. The goal of this research program is to examine whether PDGF signaling in myofibroblasts promotes the formation of peritoneal adhesions by activating actin assembly and thereby inducing the activity of MRTFs and YAP1. At the end of these studies, we will have gained new insights into molecular mechanisms that drive the formation of peritoneal adhesions. Specifically, we will learn whether the interplay between PDGF signaling and the mechanotransduction pathways in PDGFRα+ and/or PDGFR β + cells. This knowledge may enable us to identify novel approaches to prevent or reduce the formation of peritoneal adhesions and potentially other forms of fibrosis.

- National Institute on Aging Grant: In August 2021, Stefano Tarantini, PhD, assistant professor of research in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, College of Medicine, was awarded a new \$120,156 grant from the National Institute on Aging, a branch of the National Institutes of Health. This five-year grant, totaling \$600,780, focuses on examining the relationship between the brain cellular senescence and impaired blood-brain barrier function and diminished hemodynamic responses. The findings are critical to understanding potential nutritional interventional therapies to avoid obesityinduced cognitive deficits in aging
- Please submit items to celebrate next month by emailing Faculty-Senate@ouhsc.edu

IX. **Announcements**

- Spring Faculty Awards Ceremony: April 27, 2022 at 5:15 pm
 - o New Venue: Robert M. Bird Library Auditorium, Room 299
 - Senate members are asked to participate in-person at this event and meetings going forward
- Save the Date! Spring Social: May 9, 2022 (details TBA)
- Next Faculty Senate meeting: May 19, 2022 at 5:00 pm

X. Adjournment

Agenda subject to change*

Attachments: Minutes College Election Results

Spring Faculty Awards Ceremony Flyer

Results of 2022 College Elections (as of 4/20/2022)

Incoming Senators & Alternates

College of Allied Health:

- Carolyn Cheema, 2022-2025
- Alt: Norman Hord (re-elected), 2022-2023
- Alt: Carrie Ciro, 2022-2023

College of Dentistry:

- Fernando Esteban Florez (re-elected), 2022-2025
- Alt: Donna Wood (re-elected), 2022-2023
- Alt: Suzie Beavers (re-elected), 2022-2023

Graduate College:

- Eric Howard (re-elected), 2022-2025
- Alt: Pending

College of Medicine:

- Katherine Morris, 2022-2025
- Xi-Qin Ding, 2022-2025
- Alt: Bernadette Miller (re-elected), 2022-2023
- Alt: Laura Fischer, 2022-2023
- Alt: James O'Brien (re-elected), 2022-2023

College of Nursing:

Pending

College of Pharmacy:

- Katherine O'Neal (re-elected), 2022-2025
- Alt: Jordan Perrine (re-elected), 2022-2023
- Alt: Aditya Joshi, 2022-2023

College of Public Health:

- Even Floyd (re-elected), 2022-2025
- Jessica Reese (re-elected), 2022-2023
- Ying Zhang (re-elected), 2022-2023

The OUHSC Faculty Senate presents

2022 Spring Faculty Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, April 27th at 5:15 pm NEW VENUE:

Bird Library Auditorium, Room 299

સુ

via Zoom

Meeting ID: 969 2741 8063 Password: 92795671

REFRESHMENTS WILL BE SERVED
AT THE BIRD LIBRARY