Committees, Councils, and Boards

Faculty Appeals Board

The charge of Faculty Appeals Board is to respond to matters of tenure abrogation, dismissal, severe sanctions, alleged violations of academic freedom or academic due process and other grievances unresolved through administrative procedures. Because of the extraordinary importance and the range of such issues, the Board shall be empowered to appoint ad-hoc committees to assist in the conduct of its affairs. The Faculty Appeals Board considers all matters brought before it by individual faculty members, academic units, or administrative units, or other duly constituted bodies within the University community.

Committee Makeup

40 HSC Faculty - members must be tenured and in nonadministrative positions.


4 years

Current Membership

Name College Term
Andrew John Allied Health 2016-2020
Denise Bender Allied Health 2014-2018
Frank Boutsen Allied Health 2015-2019
Sarah Buckingham Allied Health 2016-2020
Thubi Kolobe Allied Health 2013-2017
Frans Currier Dentistry 2013-2017
Robert Miller Dentistry 2016-2020
Terry Fruits Dentistry 2014-2018
Anneesh Pakala Medicine 2017-2021
Benjamin Cowley Medicine 2016-2020
Dan Culkin Medicine 2014-2018
Doris Benbrook Medicine 2014-2018
James Barrett Medicine 2015-2019
Jordan Metcalf Medicine 2016-2020
Kai Lau Medicine 2016-2020
Karen Beckman Medicine 2014-2018
Kathy Reilly Medicine 2013-2017
Laura Fischer Medicine 2017-2021
Rita Raman Medicine 2014-2018
Wei-Qun Ding Medicine 2016-2020
William Hildebrand Medicine 2014-2018
Xi-Qin Ding Medicine 2013-2017
Janet Wilson Nursing 2016-2020
Jo Azzarello Nursing 2017-2021
Kathleen Dwyer Nursing 2015-2019
Renee Leasure Nursing 2013-2017
Valerie Eschiti Nursing 2015-2019
Voncella McCleary-Jones Nursing 2017-2021
 William (Mike) McShan Pharmacy 2016-2020
Grant Skrepnek Pharmacy 2015-2019
Kevin Farmer Pharmacy 2015-2019
Nathan Shanker Pharmacy 2015-2019
Shanjana Awasthi Pharmacy 2016-2020
David Thompson Public Health 2014-2018
Michael Anderson Public Health 2015-2019
Sharyl Kinney Public Health 2015-2019
Amir Khaliq Public Health 2017-2021